Marshalls World of Sport Gold Cup Final Fields Announced

A nationally representative field of 15 will line up for South Africa’s premier staying test at  Greyville on 31 July.

With Gauteng and the Western Cape well represented in the R600 000 Marshalls World Of Sport Gr3 Gold Cup, Summerveld trainer Gareth van Zyl will be under serious pressure to defend the prestigious title with his Noble Tune gelding Paths Of Victory.

SA Champion jockey Warren Kennedy takes the reins from Smanga Khumalo on the 2020 winner, who is edging back to his best form, according to his trainer.

Turffontein veteran Joey Soma will be set for a big afternoon with some decent runners, including the highest -rated African Adventure.

A good pace looks assured with plenty of handily weighted runners – albeit, some under sufferance.

Gold Circle’s Graeme Hawkins explained to the Sporting Post that the field for the 3200m event – as with all fields on the day, bar the two polytrack races – has been limited to 15 runners in terms of the contractual requirements of the Hong Kong Jockey Club World Pools.

The Daily News 2000 meeting marked the first time South African punters were able to bet into Hong Kong’s mega tote pools on a race meeting in this country and the turnover generated in just a few hours was massive.

Total gross turnover on the eight races was R486 million, comprising R405 million bet by Hong Kong punters, with South Africa and other international sources contributing R81 million.


R600 000 3200m 15:05 Ref-950
1st R375000, 2nd R120000, 3rd R60000, 4th R30000, 5th R15000
WFA: 3yrs-3.5kgs 4yrs-0.5kgs
No Apprentice Allowance

Article courtesy Sporting Post


1 1 African Adventure   60 117 TBA Muzi Yeni Joe Soma
2 2 Before Noon   52 82 T AM Serino Moodley Sean Tarry
3 3 Don’t Look Back   54.5 101 BA S’manga Khumalo St John Gray
4 4 Sunshine Silk   53.5 97 T A Marco V’Rensburg Grant Maroun
5 5 Paths Of Victory   54.5 100 BAM Warren Kennedy Gareth van Zyl
6 6 Bayberry   55 103 A Grant van Niekerk Justin Snaith
7 7 Wealthy   52 89 TCA Sean Veale Dennis Drier
8 8 Doublemint   59.5 116 AM Craig Zackey Justin Snaith
9 9 Favour   53 97 BA Keagan de Melo Dean Kannemeyer
10 10 Holy Warrior   52 90 BA Ryan Munger Candice Bass-Robinson
11 11 Chitengo   57 108 BA Gavin Lerena Alec Laird
12 12 Out Of Your League   56.5 108 A Raymond Danielson Fabian Habib
13 13 Silver Host   58 112 A Richard Fourie Justin Snaith
14 14 Nebraas   52.5 95 BA Lyle Hewitson Sean Tarry
15 15 Dream Destiny   53.5 98 A Calvin Habib Kumaran Naidoo
16 0 PayBackTheMoney   52 90 T A Reserve 1 Nathan Kotzen
17 0 Silva Magic   52 85 A Reserve 2 Dean Kannemeyer
18 0 Catchafallingstar   52 90 A Reserve 3 Glen Kotzen
Same Trainer – Not Coupled on Tote
(2,14) (6,8,13) (9,17)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: