Shumba and Raza give Zimbabwe XI First T20 Victory

HARARE: Milton Shumba and Sikandar Raza took seven wickets between to lead Zimbabwe XI to a stunning, 62-run victory over South Africa ‘A’ at the Sports Club on Sunday. While the home team has no hope of a series win, they did well to move the five-match T20 series to 3-1.

It was an unremarkable day at the office for the South African batters, who were bundled out for just 73 after they were set a target of 136 runs for victory. Khaya Zondo (18) and captain, Heinrich Klaasen (14) were the only ones to manage scores in the double figures, departing for scores in the teens.

Shumba took a remarkable 4/15, while Raza added an impressive 3/18 as the hosts trotted to victory with four overs to spare.

Earlier in the match, Zimbabwe posted 135/9 in their allotted overs after winning the toss and electing to bat first. Gerald Coetzee and Glenton Stuurman led the attack, taking 4/19 and 2/26 respectively.

The chief run scorers were Milton Shumba and Ryan Burl, who both returned 41 runs. Wessley Madhevere and Richmond Mutumbami chipped in with 23 and 10 respectively.

The fifth and final match will be played at the same venue on Tuesday (10 May).

South Africa ‘A’ T20 Squad
Heinrich Klaasen (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Ryan Rickelton (Imperial Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Glenton Stuurman (Gbets Warriors), Bjorn Fortuin (Imperial Lions), Daryn Dupavillon (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lizaad Williams (Momentum Multiply Titans), Jason Smith (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lesiba Ngoepe (Gbets Warriors), Gerald Coetzee (ITEC Knights), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors), Wihan Lubbe (Gbets Warriors).


1st T20        2 May 2022          Harare Sports Club – SA ‘A’ won by 5 wickets
2nd T20      4 May 2022          Harare Sports Club – SA ‘A’ won by 22 runs
3rd T20       6 May 2022         Harare Sports Club – SA ‘A’ won by 142 runs
4th T20       9 May 2022         Harare Sports Club – Zimbabwe XI won by 62 runs
5th T20      10 May 2022        Harare Sports Club      

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: